Home       About Me       Review Index

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Sara's Thoughts: I Found You by Lisa


A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.


**Review copy received from Simon and Schuster Canada for my honest review***

Guys, mysteries and thrillers have been my jam lately. I have been finding them SO much fun to read. I love trying to figure out what's happening, who did what, I love it. So when I saw Lisa Jewell's newest thriller I Found You available for review, I jumped on the opportunity- I was pretty excited to get this one read.

I Found You is my kind of book- The story is really a three in one- which is something I love. I really enjoy these intricate, multi-layered stories- trying to figure where they connect, because you know they do, somewhere and somehow.  In this particular story we have a man who has forgotten everything, he doesn't know his name, where he comes from or how he got to the tiny seaside town. Than there is Alice, the single mother with a bleeding heart, who can't help but be drawn to this nameless man. Finally, Lily, the young bride new to the country, whose husband has recently disappeared. Three stories with three narrators and in some way all three are connected.

While Lisa Jewell has a number of novels under her belt, I Found You is the first book I read of her and I am pretty sure I will be checking out her other books, I really enjoyed this read. Sometimes with any type of thriller or mystery novel, they can end up being very predictable and cliche, a been there done that, kind of thing. I did not experience that with I Found You- there were a few times I would assume I had everything figured out and would continue reading through that lens and bam- something would happen and I would be second guessing my theories. This made for a very fun reading experience. I also appreciated that the story was told from the past and the present and trying to figure out how that was also connected. One would think this would become convoluted and confusing, but it was pretty clear what was happening and when.

I Found You is a pretty character based story, and is very much told through the characters and their experiences and feelings. Because of this, you really get to know them and start rooting for them all. I am a fan of stories that are pretty character focused seeing things unfold through their eyes.

Overall, I Found You was a solid read and I am excited to read more from Jewell as soon as I can. I think if you're new to the genre this is a good place to start, it's not to overwhelming (plot wise), but it's still completely engaging and a really enjoyable read.

~Happy Reading Everyone! 

1 comment:

  1. I haven't read any of Jewell's books but I've seen them floating around the library collection. They've all sounded pretty decent from the dust jacket. Maybe I should finally pick one up :)

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! So please leave them and I will make every attempt to return the favor!

"So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a lovely bookcase on the wall."
— Roald Dahl